University Resources, Operations and Policies

Schools/Departments:

  • Office of the Provost
  •  

    Grievance Procedures and Arbitration


    Policy Statement

    This policy details the formal grievance procedures and arbitration for University faculty. Grievances may be filed by a faculty member or by the Union on his/her behalf or by the
    Union on its behalf. Depending upon the subject of the grievance, the grievance is filed with the appropriate Dean or with the Provost.


    Reason for Policy

    The purpose of this policy is to provide basic guidance to faculty at the University around the formal grievance procedures and arbitration at Adelphi University.


    Who Is Governed by this Policy

    Faculty


    Policy

    Refer to Article V, “Grievance Procedures and Arbitration” (page 5), in the Collective Bargaining Agreement by and between the Board of Trustees of Adelphi University and the Adelphi University Chapter, American Association of University Professors.


    Definitions

    A Grievance is an allegation by a faculty member, or the Union, that there has been a misinterpretation, breach, or improper application of any provision of the Collective Bargaining Agreement.


    Forms

    This policy does not have forms associated with it at this time. Upon periodic policy review this area will be evaluated to determine if additional information is needed to supplement the policy.


    Related Information

    Collective Bargaining Agreement by and between the Board of Trustees of Adelphi University and the Adelphi University Chapter, American Association of University Professors September 1, 2016 – August 31, 2021


    Contacts

    Christopher Storm
    p – 516.887.3165
    e – cstorm@adelphi.edu

    Anne Mungai
    p – 516.877.4065
    e – mungai@adelphi.edu

    Jacques Barber
    p – 516.877.4807
    e – jbarber@adelphi.edu

    Susan Briziarelli
    p – 516.877.4118
    e – sbriziarelli@adelphi.edu

    Elaine Smith
    p – 516.877.8181
    e – elsmith@adelphi.edu

    Richard Garner
    516.877.3798
    e – garner@adelphi.edu

    Debbi A. Smith
    p – 516.877.3522 
    e – smith8@adelphi.edu

    Rajib Sanyal
    p – 516.877.4636
    e – rsanyal@adelphi.edu


    Document History

    • Last Reviewed Date: September 22, 2017
    • Last Revised Date: September 1, 2016
    • Policy Origination Date: Not known

    Who Approved This Policy

    This policy is the result of collective bargaining negotiations and is approved by the University and the Union.

     

    Schools/Departments:

  • Office of the Provost
  •  
     
     
    Apply Now
    Request Information