University Resources, Operations and Policies

Faculty Disciplinary Action


Policy Statement

A unit member may be disciplined by discharge, suspension with pay for a maximum period of one year, reduction in rank or compensation or otherwise disciplined by the University only for just cause.


Reason for Policy

The purpose of this policy is to provide basic guidance to faculty at the University around the manner, consequences, and process of disciplinary action involving faculty at Adelphi University.


Who Is Governed by this Policy

Faculty


Policy

Refer to “Article XIV: Disciplinary Action” (page 61) in the Collective Bargaining Agreement by and between the Board of Trustees of Adelphi University and the Adelphi University Chapter, American Association of University Professors.


Definitions

This policy does not have definitions associated with it at this time. Upon periodic policy review this area will be evaluated to determine if additional information is needed to supplement the policy.


Procedures

Refer to Article XIV of the CBA for procedures.
In addition, the University Human Resources policy guide offers guidance on conflict resolutions.


Forms

This policy does not have forms associated with it at this time. Upon periodic policy review this area will be evaluated to determine if additional information is needed to supplement the policy.


Related Information

Collective Bargaining Agreement by and between the Board of Trustees of Adelphi University and the Adelphi University Chapter, American Association of University Professors September 1, 2016 – August 31, 2021.


Contacts                               

Sam Grogg
p – 516.877.3167
e – sgrogg@adelphi.edu

Christopher Storm
p – 516.877.3165
e – cstorm@adelphi.edu

Anne Mungai
p – 516.877.4707
e – mungai@adelphi.edu

Jacques Barber
p – 516.877.4807
e – jbarber@adelphi.edu

Susan Briziarelli
p – 516.877.4118
e – sbriziarelli@adelphi.edu

Elaine Smith
p – 516.877.8181
e – elsmith@adelphi.edu

Richard Garner
p – 516.877.3798
e – garner@adelphi.edu

Debbi A. Smith
p – 516.877.3522 
e – smith8@adelphi.edu

Rajib Sanyal
p – 516.877.4636
e – rsanyal@adelphi.edu


Document History                                                      

  • Last Reviewed Date: September 29, 2017
  • Last Revised Date: September 1, 2016
  • Policy Origination Date: Unknown        

Who Approved This Policy 

This policy is the result of collective bargaining negotiations and is approved by the University and the Union.

 
 
Apply Now
Request Information