University Resources, Operations and Policies

Emeritus Status 


Policy Statement

Faculty members who retire with the rank of Professor or University Professor and who have been full-time faculty at Adelphi for at least seven (7) years will be granted the rank of Professor Emeritus. Other faculty members can be granted Emeritus rank on the recommendation of the Faculty Committee on Retention, Tenure, and Promotion to the President and recommended by the President to the Board of Trustees and approved by the Board. In order to obtain this recommendation it must be established that meritorious service has been rendered.


Reason for Policy

The purpose of this policy is to provide basic guidance to faculty at the University around the process in which emeritus status is granted.


Who Is Governed by this Policy

Faculty


Policy

Refer to Article XXII in the Collective Bargaining Agreement by and between the Board of Trustees of Adelphi University and the Adelphi University Chapter, American Association of University Professors.


Definitions

This policy does not have definitions associated with it at this time. Upon periodic policy review this area will be evaluated to determine if additional information is needed to supplement the policy.


Forms

This policy does not have forms associated with it at this time. Upon periodic policy review this area will be evaluated to determine if additional information is needed to supplement the policy.


Related Information

Collective Bargaining Agreement by and between the Board of Trustees of Adelphi University and the Adelphi University Chapter, American Association of University Professors September 1, 2016 – August 31, 2021.


Contacts

Sam Grogg
p – 516.877.3167
e – sgrogg@adelphi.edu

Christopher Storm
p – 516.877.3165
e – cstorm@adelphi.edu

Anne Mungai
p – 516.877.4065
e – mungai@adelphi.edu

Jacques Barber
p – 516.877.4807
e – jbarber@adelphi.edu

Susan Briziarelli
p – 516.877.4118
e – sbriziarelli@adelphi.edu

Elaine Smith
p – 516.877.8181
e – elsmith@adelphi.edu

Richard Garner
p – 516.877.3798
e – garner@adelphi.edu

Debbi A. Smith
p – 516.877.3522 
e – smith8@adelphi.edu

Rajib Sanyal
p – 516.877.4636
e – rsanyal@adelphi.edu


Document History                                                      

  • Last Reviewed Date: September 29, 2017
  • Last Revised Date: September 1, 2016
  • Policy Origination Date: Unknown

Who Approved This Policy                                                  

This policy is the result of collective bargaining negotiations and is approved by the University and the Union.

 
 
Apply Now
Request Information