University Resources, Operations and Policies

View more programs like this:

Schools/Departments:

  • Office of the Provost
  • Categories:

  • Academics and Research
  •  

    Continuing Review of Faculty


    Policy Statement

    The development of the professional activities of the faculty in an institution of higher education is essential to the maintenance of academic and professional standards of excellence. The purpose of professional evaluations is to ensure that the educational goals and missions of the University are accomplished and to encourage the improvement of individual professional performance. An evaluation of professional activities shall be based on the faculty’s total professional performance.


    Reason for Policy

    The purpose of this policy is to provide basic guidance to faculty at the University around the formal review process and evaluations of University faculty that occur throughout employment.


    Who Is Governed by this Policy

    Faculty


    Policy

    Refer to “Continuing Review of Faculty” (page 23) in the Collective Bargaining Agreement by and between the Board of Trustees of Adelphi University and the Adelphi University Chapter, American Association of University Professors.


    Definitions

    This policy does not have definitions associated with it at this time. Upon periodic policy review this area will be evaluated to determine if additional information is needed to supplement the policy.


    Procedures

    This policy does not have procedures associated with it at this time. Upon periodic policy review this area will be evaluated to determine if additional information is needed to supplement the policy.


    Forms

    Guidelines and Form for Peer Observation (PDF)


    Related Information

    See Article XI of the Collective Bargaining Agreement by and between the Board of Trustees of Adelphi University and the Adelphi University Chapter, American Association of University Professors September 1, 2016 – August 31, 2021


    Contacts

    Sam Grogg 
    516.877.3167
    sgrogg@adelphi.edu

    Christopher Storm
    516.877.3165
    cstorm@adelphi.edu

    Anne Mungai
    516.877.4065
    mungai@adelphi.edu

    Jacques Barber
    516.877.4807
    jbarber@adelphi.edu

    Susan Briziarelli
    516.877.4118
    sbriziarelli@adelphi.edu

    Elaine Smith
    516.877.8181
    elsmith@adelphi.edu

    Richard Garner
    516.877.3798
    garner@adelphi.edu

    Brian Lym
    516.877.3517 
    blym@adelphi.edu

    Shawn O’Riley
    516.877.3404
    oriley@adelphi.edu

    Andrew Safyer
    516.877.4354
    asafyer@adelphi.edu

    Rajib Sanyal
    516.877.4636
    rsanyal@adelphi.edu


    Document History                                                      

    • Last Reviewed Date: September 29, 2017
    • Last Revised Date: September 1, 2016
    • Policy Origination Date: Not known

    Who Approved This Policy

    This policy is the result of collective bargaining negotiations and is approved by the University and the Union.

     

    Schools/Departments:

  • Office of the Provost
  • Categories:

  • Academics and Research
  •  
     
     
    Apply Now
    Request Information