University Resources, Operations and Policies

Schools/Departments:

  • Office of the Provost
  • Categories:

  • Academics and Research
  •  

    Continuing Review of Faculty


    Policy Statement

    The development of the professional activities of the faculty in an institution of higher education is essential to the maintenance of academic and professional standards of excellence. The purpose of professional evaluations is to ensure that the educational goals and missions of the University are accomplished and to encourage the improvement of individual professional performance. An evaluation of professional activities shall be based on the faculty’s total professional performance.


    Reason for Policy

    The purpose of this policy is to provide basic guidance to faculty at the University around the formal review process and evaluations of University faculty that occur throughout employment.


    Who Is Governed by this Policy

    Faculty


    Policy

    Refer to “Continuing Review of Faculty” (page 23) in the Collective Bargaining Agreement by and between the Board of Trustees of Adelphi University and the Adelphi University Chapter, American Association of University Professors.


    Definitions

    This policy does not have definitions associated with it at this time. Upon periodic policy review this area will be evaluated to determine if additional information is needed to supplement the policy.


    Forms

    Guidelines and Form for Peer Observation (PDF)


    Related Information

    See Article XI of the Collective Bargaining Agreement by and between the Board of Trustees of Adelphi University and the Adelphi University Chapter, American Association of University Professors September 1, 2016 – August 31, 2021


    Contacts

    Sam Grogg 
    p – 516.877.3167
    e – sgrogg@adelphi.edu

    Christopher Storm
    p – 516.877.3165
    e – cstorm@adelphi.edu

    Anne Mungai
    p – 516.877.4065
    e – mungai@adelphi.edu

    Jacques Barber
    p – 516.877.4807
    e – jbarber@adelphi.edu

    Susan Briziarelli
    p – 516.877.4118
    e – sbriziarelli@adelphi.edu

    Elaine Smith
    p – 516.877.8181
    e – elsmith@adelphi.edu

    Richard Garner
    p – 516.877.3798
    e – garner@adelphi.edu

    Debbi A. Smith
    p – 516.877.3522 
    e – smith8@adelphi.edu

    Shawn O’Riley
    p – 516.877.3404
    e – oriley@adelphi.edu

    Rajib Sanyal
    p – 516.877.4636
    e – rsanyal@adelphi.edu


    Document History

    • Last Reviewed Date: September 29, 2017
    • Last Revised Date: September 1, 2016
    • Policy Origination Date: Not known                     

    Who Approved This Policy

    This policy is the result of collective bargaining negotiations and is approved by the University and the Union.

     

    Schools/Departments:

  • Office of the Provost
  • Categories:

  • Academics and Research
  •  
     
     
    Apply Now
    Request Information