University Resources, Operations and Policies

All-Gender Accessible Restroom Policy and Procedures for All Adelphi University Buildings

Policy Statement                                                                      

This Policy establishes guidelines and procedures related to the creation, adaptation, and implementation of inclusive facilities in existing and newly constructed buildings for the health and safety of all students, faculty, staff, administrators, and visitors of Adelphi University.

» View full policy (login required)

Refer to gender-neutral restrooms map of the Garden City Campus

Reason for Policy                                                                    

The provision of single-stall, all-gender restrooms is intended to provide safe alternatives to multi-stall, gender-specific restrooms, which can be problematic and unsafe for students, faculty, staff, administrators, and visitors who may be harassed or discriminated against based on their perceived or actual gender identity, gender expression, sex, sexual orientation, ability status or other identity, as well as other factors that make the use of a private, gender-inclusive facility preferable for certain individuals.

Individuals who may be supported and protected by this include, but are not limited to, those accompanied by young children; those who identify as transgender, gender non-conforming, or who are variant in their gender expression; those who do not wish to be identified by any sex or gender identity; those who may be uncomfortable using a multi-stall gender-specific restroom; those who have physical disabilities; and those who use wheelchairs or other assistive devices.

Who Is Governed by this Policy                                         

Faculty, Staff, and Students


Adam H. Visconti

Robert J. Shipley 

Perry E. Greene 

Document History                                                      

  • Last Reviewed Date: September 25, 2017
  • Last Revised Date: June 14, 2017
  • Policy Origination Date: June 14, 2017

Who Approved This Policy                                                  

Executive Leadership Committee:

Christine Riordan, President

Sam Grogg, Interim Provost and Executive Vice President

Tim Burton, Senior Vice President and Treasurer

Perry Greene, Vice President of Diversity and Inclusion

Esther Goodcuff, Associate Vice President for Student Affairs

Kristen Capezza, Associate Vice President for Enrollment Management

Joanna Templeton, Associate Vice President for Brand Strategy and University Communications

Ann Louden, Special Assistant to the President

Maggie Yoon Grafer, Chief of Staff

Apply Now
Request Information