University Resources, Operations and Policies

Adjunct Faculty


Policy Statement

This policy defines the appointment and reappointment process, types of adjunct faculty, as well as related workload policies during their appointment.


Reason for Policy

The purpose of this policy is to provide basic guidance to faculty at the University around the appointment process and workload for adjunct faculty.


Who Is Governed by this Policy

Faculty


Policy

Refer to “Adjunct Faculty” (page 20) in the Collective Bargaining Agreement by and between the Board of Trustees of Adelphi University and the Adelphi University Chapter, American Association of University Professors.


Definitions

Adjunct Faculty are members of the faculty who have a part-time position for a period of one semester


Procedures

Employees who wish access to their personnel files must contact the Office of Human Resources at least 24 hours in advance requesting to review their files.


Forms

This policy does not have forms associated with it at this time. Upon periodic policy review this area will be evaluated to determine if additional information is needed to supplement the policy.


Related Information

See Article IX of the Collective Bargaining Agreement by and between the Board of Trustees of Adelphi University and the Adelphi University Chapter, American Association of University Professors September 1, 2016 – August 31, 2021.


Contacts

Christopher Storm
p – 516.877.3165
e – cstorm@adelphi.edu

Anne Mungai
p – 516.877.4065
e – mungai@adelphi.edu

Jacques Barber
p – 516.877.4807
e – jbarber@adelphi.edu

Susan Briziarelli
p – 516.877.4118
e – sbriziarelli@adelphi.edu

Elaine Smith
p – 516.877.8181
e – elsmith@adelphi.edu

Richard Garner
p – 516.877.3798
e – garner@adelphi.edu

Debbi A. Smith
p – 516.877.3522
e – smith8@adelphi.edu

Rajib Sanyal
p – 516.877.4636
e – rsanyal@adelphi.edu


Document History

  • Last Reviewed Date: 
  • Last Revised Date: September 1, 2016
  • Policy Origination Date:   

Who Approved This Policy

This policy is the result of collective bargaining negotiations and is approved by the University and the Union.

 
 
Apply Now
Request Information