University Resources, Operations and Policies

View more programs like this:

Schools/Departments:

  • Office of Academic Services and Retention
  • Categories:

  • Employment/Human Resources
  •  

    Emeritus Status 


    Policy Description

    Faculty members who retire with the rank of Professor or University Professor and who have been full-time faculty at Adelphi for at least seven (7) years will be granted the rank of Professor Emeritus. Other faculty members can be granted Emeritus rank on the recommendation of the Faculty Committee on Retention, Tenure, and Promotion to the President and recommended by the President to the Board of Trustees and approved by the Board. In order to obtain this recommendation it must be established that meritorious service has been rendered.

    » View full policy (login required)


    Reason for Policy                                                                    

    The purpose of this policy is to provide basic guidance to faculty at the University around the process in which emeritus status is granted.


    Who Is Governed by this Policy                                         

    Faculty


    Contacts                                                                       

    Sam Grogg
    516-877-3167
    sgrogg@adelphi.edu

    Christopher Storm
    516-877-3165
    cstorm@adelphi.edu

    Anne Mungai
    516-877-4065
    mungai@adelphi.edu

    Jacques Barber
    516-877-4807
    jbarber@adelphi.edu

    Susan Briziarelli
    516-877-4118
    sbriziarelli@adelphi.edu

    Elaine Smith
    516-877-8181
    elsmith@adelphi.edu

    Richard Garner
    516-877-3798
    garner@adelphi.edu

    Brian Lym
    516-877-3517
    blym@adelphi.edu

    Shawn O’Riley
    516-877-3404
    oriley@adelphi.edu

    Andrew Safyer
    516-877-4354
    asafyer@adelphi.edu

    Rajib Sanyal
    516-877-4636
    rsanyal@adelphi.edu


    Document History                                                      

    • Last Reviewed Date: September 29, 2017
    • Last Revised Date: September 1, 2016
    • Policy Origination Date: Unknown

    Who Approved This Policy                                                  

    This policy is the result of collective bargaining negotiations and is approved by the University and the Union.

     
     
    Apply Now
    Request Information